Monday, December 08, 2008Contact: Tamarisk Doyle, HRI
045 455685
Irish racing Award Winners Announced

Horse Racing Ireland today hosted the annual Irish Horse Racing Awards, designed to honour the human and equine talent which has made racing one of the country’s most popular sports and delivered great success in the international arena.

This is the sixth year of the awards which are voted on by the Irish Racing Media to recognise excellence in the sport of horse racing.

The main winners:

  • Derby Winner New Approach Voted Horse of the Year
  • Ruby Walsh, JT McNamara & Dave Fox win Awards
  • 19 year old Patrick Mullins wins Outstanding Achievement
  • Flat Award went to Champion UK & Irish Trainer Aidan O’Brien

    Brian Kavanagh, Chief Executive of Horse Racing Ireland said: - "Despite the current economic downturn, 2008 was a very successful year for Irish racing. Our flat horses dominated throughout Europe and with the national hunt season getting into full swing, we have much to look forward to in 2009”.

  • For additional information, please visit

    E-Mail :